On the road again

Freiamt
Freiamt

I’m on the road again, just not with a twike. For the long distances I will use the train and for everything else I’ll keep riding my bicycle, but at least I’m on the road again. To catch up and to avoid getting another infection in my knee joint I’ll take the train as my kind of „bridge technology“.

As I leave Baden-Württemberg heading for Lusatia it is time to summarise what I learned about the energy transition so far:
Regarding the issue of climate change and the energy transition I often thought, what can one individual person really do? Of course there are tons of advice how to use less energy. The thought of only contributing a tiny drop in the ocean and especially the personal inertia, that we have to overcome to get started, and also the financial investment necessary to get started keep many people including myself from finally taking action.

However the rather successful development of renewable energy was mainly brought forwand by individual people. Ursula Sladek made clear in her speech at the “Save the energy transition” rally in Freiburg, that by now about 25% of the energy production in Germany come from renewable sources and half of it comes from power plants that citizens have built themselves or financed together als cooperatives.

Freiamt is a good example. The people in this town of 4300 inhabitants have built six wind turbines, 300 solar power systems on rooftops, and they are using biogas, hydro power, solar heat and geothermal energy from power plants that they build themselves mainly with their own money. Following a rotor blade for Freiamt’s new wind turbine has also been the most impressive experience of my journey so far.

The people decided for themselves and now they profit from producing energy themselves. That seems to be the key to success. There are very few wind energy critics in Freiamt, the mayority of citizens is proud of what they and their fellow citizens have acchieved. When investors showed up in the 1990s to rent locations for wind turbines, the people decided „We can do this ourselves“ and put their plans into practice.
Interviews with Hannelore Reibold-Mench (Mayor of Freiamt), Ernst Leimer (Association for the promotion of wind energy in Freiamt) and Inge Reinbold (Reinbold bio-energy)

„Never believe that a small group of committed people thinking new ways could not change the world. It has always been like that.“ Johannes Büttner told me this quote (more photos). In Freiburg-Ebnet he modified the house he rents to run on solar heat and wood-fired heating with lots of manual labour and mainly used materials. He changed the decorative garden into kitchen garden to produce food for his family and he drives and also repairs twikes.

Johannes Büttner
Johannes Büttner

Freiburg has many showcase projects, that are internationally known and therefore get overrun by journalists and tourists from all over the world. So I was very happy that some scientists of the Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energysystems took the time to tell me about their research on solar cells and electricity storage technologies.
Interviews with Alma Spribille and with Stephan Lux).
Georg Löser and Andreas Hoffmann have shown me, how they made their homes independent from fossil fuels and the big energy companies. Reinhard Schwörer protested against the nuclear power plant in his hometown Wyhl when he was a teenager and has now been installing solar systems since the 1990s. I got to watch his employees install asolar system on a house in Rust.

We will get nowhere without the action of individual people. That’s also what Michael Sladek,said, when I interviewed him in Schönau concerning the project of BürgerEnergie Berlin that he supports with his knowledge. Committed people drive the energy transition forward in many ways. These committed people and their stories are what brings the enerty transition to life.
Governments can’t decide the energy transition top-down and large companies antagonise it. It’s the citizens who decide for themselves how they want to live in the future, and who say „We will do that“ despite the framework conditions getting worse.

Last but not least: Thank you very to Diana Sträuber, who did not only organise the rally for the energy transition in Freiburg, the conference for energy autonomy in towns and the „whisper rally“/a>, but also let me stay at her place quite a bit longer than initially planned.

Weiter geht’s!

Freiamt
Freiamt

Jetzt geht es endlich weiter, allerdings doch nicht mit einem Twike. Auf den längeren Strecken werde ich mit dem Zug fahren und sonst weiterhin mit dem Fahrrad. Aber immerhin es geht weiter. Um Zeit aufzuholen und eine mögliche erneute Entzündung des Kniegelenks zu vermeiden fahre ich mit dem Zug. Die Bahn ist quasi meine „Brückentechnologie“.

Ich verlasse Baden-Württemberg in Richtung Lausitz. Es ist Zeit für eine erste Zusammenfassung dessen, was ich bisher über die Energiewende gelernt habe.

Beim Thema Klimaschutz und Energiewende habe ich oft gedacht, was kann ein einzelner Mensch schon tun? Klar gibt es listenweise Ratschläge wie man Energie spart. Aber der Gedanke nur einen Tropfen auf den heißen Stein beizutragen und vor allem die Trägheit, die man überwinden muss um anzufangen, und die Investionen, die am Anfang notwendig sind, halten mich und viele Menschen davon ab.

Aber die recht erfolgreiche Entwicklung der erneuerbaren Energien in Deutschland wurde zu einem großen Anteil von Einzelpersonen vorangebracht. Ursula Sladek machte in ihrer Rede bei der Demonstration „Energiewende retten“ in Freiburg deutlich, dass von den mittlerweile etwa 25% erneuerbaren Energien an der Stromproduktion in Deutschland jede zweite Kilowattstunde aus Anlagen stammt, die Bürger entweder selbst oder in Genossenschaften aufgebaut haben.

Ein gutes Beispiel dafür ist neue Windrad in Freiamt ist das von den Aufnahmen her eindrucksvollste Erlebnis meiner bisherigen Reise.
Die Menschen haben sich selbst dafür entschieden und profitieren auch selbst von der Energiegewinnung. Dies scheint der Schlüssel zu ihrem Erfolg zu sein. Gegner von zum Beispiel Windkraft gibt es in Freiamt nur sehr wenige, die Mehrheit der Bürger ist stolz auf das, was sie und ihre Mitbürger erreicht haben. Als Investoren die besten Standorte für Windkraft pachten wollten, sagten sich die Menschen einfach „Das können wir selber“ und haben ihre Pläne auch in die Tat umgesetzt. (Interviews mit Hannelore Reibold-Mench (Bürgermeisterin von Freiamt), Ernst Leimer (Förderverein für Windenergie in Freiamt) und Inge Reinbold (Bioenergie Reinbold))

„Man sollte niemals dem Glauben verfallen, eine kleine Gruppe anders Denkender hätte die Welt nicht verändert. Es war noch niemals anders“. Dieses Zitat sagte mir Johannes Büttner (mehr Fotos). In Freiburg-Ebnet baute er mit sehr viel eigner Arbeit und hauptsächlich gebrauchtem Material das Haus, in dem er zur Miete wohnt, auf Holzheizung und Solarwärme um, verwandelt den Ziergarten in einen Nutzgarten und renoviert und fährt Twikes.

Johannes Büttner
Johannes Büttner

Freiburg hat viele Vorzeigeprojekte, die weithin bekannt sind, und von Journalisten und Touristen nur so überrannt werden. Daher bin ich sehr froh, dass sich Forscher des Fraunhofer Instituts für Solare Energiesysteme Zeit genommen haben mir ein bisschen etwas über die Forschung an Solarzellen und Speichertechnologien zu erkären (Interviews mit Alma Spribille und mit Stephan Lux).
Georg Löser und Andreas Hoffmann haben mir gezeigt, wie sie ihre Häuser unabhängig von Erdöl und großen Stromkonzernen gemacht haben. Bei den Mitarbeitern von Reinhard Schwörer, der als Jugendlicher gegen den Bau des Atomkraftwerks in seinem Heimatort Wyhl protestierte und seit Ende der 1990er mit seiner Zimmerei Solaranlagen montiert, durfte ich zuschauen wie eine Solaranlage auf einem Hausdach in Rust installiert wurde.

Es geht nichts ohne die einzelnen Menschen. Das sagt auch Michael Sladek, mit dem ich in Schönau schon mal ein Interview geführt habe für die Reportage über BürgerEnergie Berlin. Engagierte Menschen sind es, die die Energiewende in vielfältiger Weise voran bringen, und die Geschichten dieser engagierter Menschen sind es, die das doch sehr technische und politische Thema Energiewende mit Leben füllen.
Energiewende kann nicht von oben herab verordnet werden und die großen Konzerne tun sich schwer damit. Es sind die Bürger, die selbst entscheiden, wie sie in Zukunft leben wollen, und auch wenn die Rahmenbedingungen schlechter werden sagen „Wir machen das!“.

Last but not least: Ein ganz herzlicher Dank an Diana Sträuber, die nicht nur die Energiewende Demonstration in Freiburg, den Kongress Energieautonome Kommune und die Flüster-Demo organisiert hat, sondern mich auch viel länger als ursprünglich geplant bei sich in Freiburg übernachten ließ.